Brighten Your Future
Submitted by: Nan Swinehart

Brighten Your Future (BYF) is a local non-profit organization that provides grants to Logan High School graduates to continue their education. The BYF grants are based on need and the grants come from the interest earned from the assets of the organization. Thanks to their generous donors, BYF awarded nearly $90,000 to LHS graduates for the 2020-2021 school year.

All donations to BYF are cumulative and once a donor has
reached the milestone of $10,000 or more in donations, they
are awarded with The Trustees’ Award for Exceptional
Generosity. This level of giving establishes a BYF Grant in the
name of the donor. For the school year of 2020-21, Brighten
Your Future is proud to announce the 43 Named Grants and
their recipients.

Emily Dennis, University of Pittsburgh, received The George
and Lucy Shaw and The Charles and Nan Winslow Grants.
George and Lucy Shaw established Brighten Your Future in
1988 and Nan Winslow is George and Lucy’s daughter.

Marissa Brenning, Ohio University Lancaster, The Bill and Sandy Keynes Grant; Kian Dart-Snouffer, Hobart-William Smith College, The Logan Holl Foundation and The Barton and Regina Holl Grants; Sydney Breining, Bowling Green University, The Columbus Foundation and The Logan Rotary Club Grants; Taylor Works, Ohio University Lancaster, The LHSD Employees and The Gruner Family Grants; James Franco, Hocking College, The National City Bank and The James and Mary Huffman Grants; Natasha Webb, Mt. Carmel School of Nursing, The Max and Lori Davidson and The Gayle Farmer Grants; Cymon Rooker, Ohio University Lancaster, The Hugh and Kathy Morton and The Mary Ruth and Faith Krinn Grants; Cassandra Trippier, Ohio University, The Richard C. Brown, Ph.D. and The Leroy Phelps, Ph.D. Grants; Faline Bailey, Ohio University, The Larry P. Gertsner Grant; Cameron Daubenmire-Yates, Ohio Wesleyan, The AMVETS Post 1776 and The Drs. Harley & Floyd Stone Grants; Conner Perry, University of Cincinnati, The Marian Sinsel and The Joseph and Roseanne Thomas Grants; Aidan Oldham, Ohio University Lancaster, The Pamela Dotson and The Harold Rheinscheld Grants; Caitlyn Myers, University of Findlay, The Harold and June Drummond Grant; Noah Dooley, Ohio University, The Frederick M. (Rick) Ervin III Grant; Austin Ly, The Ohio State University, The Lenora Sater Pausch Grant; Ruth Zheng, The Ohio State University, The Creighton Phelps Grant; Madison Chaffin, Central Ohio Technical College (COTC), The LHS Class of 1952 Grant; Bailey Farley, Ohio University, The Daniel J. Matheny Grant; Kyla Primmer, Capital University, The LHS Class of 1950 Grant; Brittany Farley, Hocking College, The John E. Krieg Grant; Katelyn Walker, Ohio University, The Laurel Township Recreation Committee Grant; Braeden Spatar, Tiffin University, The Richard and Marge Dollison Grant; Megan Gwinn, University of Findlay, The Paul and Suzanne Stivison Grant; Caleb Taulbee, Wittenberg University, The Steve and Carol Polsley Grant; Emma Gabriel, Ohio University, The David and Gwen Blumberg Grant; Isaac Gwinn, Ottawa University, The Joe and Jo Ann Murtha Grant; Andrew Todd, Mt. Vernon Nazarene College, The Tony and Judith Hugli and The Citizen’s Bank Grants; Kayley Walker, Ohio University, The Norman Gary Grant; Olivia Proctor, Capital University, The Ken and Anne Krieg Grant; Colten Castle, Ohio University, The Don Poling Grant.

Anyone wishing additional information about Brighten
Your Future can contact Nanette Swinehart, Executive Director,
at 740-243-0216 or visit their website at